Go to the Egyptian Dreams shop
Egyptian Dreams
Ancient Egypt Discussion Board

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Newbie... how did we get our knowledge of the language?

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Egyptian Dreams Forum Index -> Art and Literature
View previous topic :: View next topic  
MrCrowley
Citizen
Citizen

PostPosted: Mon Mar 27, 2006 6:17 pm    Post subject: Newbie... how did we get our knowledge of the language? Reply with quote

Hi all,

I only recently been interested in the egyptian history, so it is my first time here. I am still beginning to understand the basics...

Like everybody else, I know of Champollion and the Rosetta Stone, so I have an idea on how we achieved our decypherment of hieroglyphs. I still need a piece of the puzzle though to perfect my understanding of the matter.

I have read in many places the way associations have been made between the names of persons on the Rosetta stone, to understand that hieroglyphs could be used phonetically. I also read that Champollion himself made about 80 associations of cartouches with the name of their owners, so that he was able to get more associations between characters and sounds than were available on the stone.