Go to the Egyptian Dreams shop
Egyptian Dreams
Ancient Egypt Discussion Board

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Akkk! New question!!!

View previous topic :: View next topic  
Mandi
Scribe
Scribe

PostPosted: Sun Apr 20, 2008 10:16 pm    Post subject: Akkk! New question!!! Reply with quote

Just picked up my book of lectures.... And so i am just getting started when it states that christianity infitrates the middle line (meroe area) in the absense of the Meroitic kindom... all these little christian kingdoms form... But small problem... Nowhere does it say what happened to the Meroic period and its government and structure etc....

What happened to it??? Certainly, it was not all beamed up by a UFO by some lil green men....
Segereh
Pharaoh
Pharaoh

PostPosted: Mon Apr 21, 2008 4:06 pm    Post subject: Re: Akkk! New question!!! Reply with quote

Mandi wrote:
christianity infiltrates the middle nile (meroe area)

Infiltration is the key word here.
Nobody got abducted by Romulans.
They merely got assimilated by the Borg.
Weak joke, but it's half serious.

The christian kingdoms assimilated the older "pagan" tiny states.
Those had already been thoroughly influenced by the Greeks by the way.
After 300CE you really cannot speak of the Meroitic culture anymore.
It had already been "infected" too much with outside influences.

Feel free to visit my site in construction:
-- www.enks.net --
Mandi
Scribe
Scribe

PostPosted: Mon Apr 21, 2008 4:18 pm    Post subject: Maybe my mind is weak Reply with quote

I found your joke highly amusing actually but then again i havent really slept a good night in like 2 weeks now.