Go to the Egyptian Dreams shop
Egyptian Dreams
Ancient Egypt Discussion Board

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Greetings!

View previous topic :: View next topic  
Sam.Raman.na.Marú:t.Nahah
Citizen
Citizen

PostPosted: Thu Oct 27, 2011 3:22 am    Post subject: Greetings! Reply with quote

Hello there!
I had a first encounter with ancient Egyptian language in my childhood, when I developed an interest for ancient languages. I started learning hieroglyphs, hieratic, Egyptian grammar and had a dream to become an egyptologist someday. But, in my country there was no institution to study that particular discipline, so I had to do germanistics instead.
A year ago when I moved to the USA, and decided to enroll a faculty here, my passion for Egyptian leapt back to life, so I started doing Egyptian all over again, and much to my surprise, I haven't really forgotten how to read hieroglyphs. I bought books, grammars, dictionaries, chrestomathies, linguistic studies (Loprieno is at the moment like a supreme Deity to me) and every day as I am learning more and more words and making a progress, I am falling in love with Egyptian more deeply. I am especially interested in matters of vocalization and Old Egyptian.
My story is probably dull and my enthusiasm way to irritating, but I wanted to share my story with people on this forum who understand beauty of Ancient Egyptian civilization.
Queen of Egypt
Queen of Egypt

PostPosted: Thu Oct 27, 2011 3:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Welcome to Egyptian Dreams Very Happy

I could never find the kind of fascination and interest you describe boring. It's nice to hear it was relatively easy for you to pick up the language again.