Go to the Egyptian Dreams shop
Egyptian Dreams
Ancient Egypt Discussion Board

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Hello to one and all
Goto page 1, 2  Next

View previous topic :: View next topic  
Ptahshepses
Citizen
Citizen

PostPosted: Sat Jan 21, 2012 11:22 am    Post subject: Hello to one and all Reply with quote

Hello there

I found your site whilst searching for images of the 6th dynasty king Merenre (I refuse to use the word pharaoh). Having found your site and finding that you don't agree that there are helicopters in the glyphs at Abydos, I thought I'd contribute a thing or two.
When I studied 'Egyptology' (the world was very different then - dinosaurs roamed the earth) I concentrated on pyramid design and evolving styles.

At one point in my varied history, I was taught how to use AutoCad so I find using SketchUp quite easy
Now I have time on my hands, I 'create' virtual tombs, monuments and pyramids in 3d. They are more for the architectural interest rather than artistic representations and no- I don't stick images of the walls of the Theban tombs.
I can make 'fly-arounds' and convert those into a video file, the trouble is the size of the file. The video of Khufu is over 500Mb, but if you reduce the size of the file you reduce the quality. Oh well.

The dimensions of the 3d images are as accurate as I can get and sometimes I can even get lucky and 'render' a view into something half decent.
I'll load a couple of things into Photobucket and post a link or two. In the meantime here's a rendered photo of (from the left) Neferefre, Queen Khentkaues Ii
Neferirkare and Niuserre. All my own work.

That's what it might have looked like before the stone robbers pinched it all

L-P-H
anneke
Queen of Egypt
Queen of Egypt

PostPosted: Sat Jan 21, 2012 4:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote